Rusty Bladen – Discography


With For The Better (2015) Bladen recorded arguably his best album ever – a Midwesterner’s take on country and rock and roll. The mixture of Bladen’s writing (he penned all the songs) and sound and production of Thom Daugherty (former guitarist for The Band Perry and The Elms) is gritty-but-sweet and Daugherty’s touch makes for a sound both familiar and original.  The album contains seven original songs that will resonate with fans of Tom Petty and Will Hoge.  John McDowell of the Wright Brothers guests on two songs with background vocals. Two videos were produced, viewed on the Rusty Bladen YouTube channel./ view playlist The album was recorded at the Thom Daugherty Studio and Sound Crib in Carmel, Indiana. / Read more and listen


One Live Night (2011) was first released via videos to Rusty’s fans on YouTube. In 2011, the full concert was mixed and released as a digital album available.

Rusty Bladen and The Designated Driver crank out 18 songs, Rusty Bladen originals, including “Uppacrick”, “Smoke Like a Train”, “Ride That River”, and “Are You Happy Now?” No covers – just Rusty Bladen-penned homegrown rock and roll. The band features Mark Hamilton (guitar), Vernay Reindoller (bass), Kevin Burkett (drums), and JW Smith (keyboards) ripping through the set. It is an album of Rusty Bladen does best: live rock and roll. The album was recorded at the historic Scott Theater in Scottsburg, Indiana. / Read more and listen


Homegrown Treasures (2010) features 11 original songs that reflect and embellish on what it is like to live someplace for a long time, and developing deep connections to a place and people. Incl “Molly’s Song”, a 12-string-driven song capturing a heartbreaking situation, the summertime romp that is “Cumberland Lake”, a the tongue-in-cheek “Grass Mowing Song” and the rattled-off list of great folk, country and rock artists in “Diggin’ Folk Music”. Rusty recorded the album live in front of an audience at Toby Myers’ studio located deep in the country in Brown County, Indiana. /  Read more and listen


Feels Like Christmas (2006) is simply a great holiday rock and roll album. What if John Mellencamp, Tom Petty, Jimmy Buffett, and John Lennon were all jamming at the same Christmas party? It might sound a lot like this album. Let’s call it countryfried homegrown rock and roll. Songs include the title cut (an original from Rusty) and 12 classic covers of classic Christmas songs like “Go Tell It On The Mountain”, “Away in a Manger”, the Buck Owen classic “Santa Looked A Lot Like Daddy”, and rocking versions of “Frosty The Snowman” and “Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer”. Rusty has called it one of his favorite albums that he’s made.  Produced by Mellencamp drummer Dane Clark. / Read more and listen


Ride That River (2006) features the official theme song of the Madison Regatta.z and is a three-song EP that also includes a re-recorded version of “Red White and Blue” and a cover of “Never Been To Spain”. The album was recorded at Azmyth Studios in Carmel, Indiana with a band that features Mellencamp drummer Dane Clark and Mellencamp bass player Jon E. Gee on bass.  Tony Burton, a member of Rusty’s touring band at the time, plays guitar, and JW Smith is on keyboard. The record was cut live in the studio, with all members playing at the same time, giving it a great live feel and sound. / Read more and listen


Rockin’ Your Houseparty (2001) For years, Rusty Bladen had been rocking parties all around the Midwest, and this was the first album that really brough that home. Rockin’ Your Houseparty is the next best thing to seeing Rusty’s live, solo show.  It features live versions of many of Bladen’s favorites, including “Blue Flannel Shirt”, “Ride That River”, and “Smoke Like A Train”, as well as new (at the time) songs such as “Uppacrick”, “Karaoke King”, and more. The set has a bootleg aesthetic and the audience is up near Rusty’s stage during the live set.  Recorded live at a party during the 2000 Houseparty Tour near Bloomington, IN. / Read more and listen


Everything for Everybody (1998) is heartfelt and genuine heartland roots rock. Strong acoustic and electric guitars, a nice Hammond B3 and cracking drums drive the album. Rusty Bladen songs “Blue Flannel Shirt”, “dooyamissme” and “Smoke Like a Train” make their first appearance on record. Produced by Ed Gaus, who also plays drums on the album, the band includes Tony Burton (guitar), Jon E. Gee (bass), Moe Z. (keyboards), and former Why Store drummer Charlie Bushor playing piano on the last track on the record. Recorded at Echo Park Studio in Bloomington, Indiana. The album artwork was done drawn and painted by renowned Chicago-based artist, school teacher, and longtime Rusty friend, Randy Sweitzer. / Read more and listen

Live Acoustic at the Hoosier Theater  (1995) is Rusty’s second album was recorded live and is currently the only album of his that is out of print. It features Rusty on acoustic guitar, and a band of Dennis O’Neal on drums, Tim Halcomb on bass, and the late Rick DeBow on sax.  Recorded live at the Hoosier Theater in Vevay, Indiana. it is a great summation of the early part of Rusty’s solo career.


Are You Happy Now?  (1993) was the first solo release for Rusty Bladen. The record spotlights full band recordings of Rusty’s know fan-favorite songs. The CD was in high demand before the days of the digital download, and the River Road Records stockpile of “Are You Happy Now?” completely sold out. Due to that demand, it was reissued in both digital and CD formats in 2003. It features the remastered original recordings with brand-new CD cover art. The set includes the local radio hit “Don’t Blame it on Me”, concert favorites “Real Gone Gal”, “Just For A While” and the title track. Recorded at TRC Studios in Indianapolis Indiana with the great Alan Johnson producing. The band features Berry Burleson, the former drummer for Rusty’s legendary Madison rock band Aura, on drums for all but one song (Dane Clark plays on “Don’t Blame It On Me”), Rob Johnson on guitar, Tim Ping on bass, and Rick DeBow on sax. / Read more and listen